Real Madrid Club

Real Madrid Club de Fútbol, commonly known as Real Madrid, or simply as Real, is a professional football club based in Madrid, Spain. The club was formed in 1902 as Madrid Football Club and played its first official game in November 1902. Madrid won the 1957–58 European Cup, which was their first international title. The club played its first-ever competitive match in 1902 against Arenas Club de Getxo.

Achievements of Real Madrid:

A stadium full of people

Real Madrid has won the Champions League/European Cup a record twelve times, more than any other club. They have also won the UEFA Cup twice, the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup once (which was later superseded by the UEFA Cup), and the Spanish Cup three times. The Liga championship titles in 1936, 1954, 1955, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1966, 1998, 2002, 2006, 2007, 2016 and 2017. With their first professional club kit, they reached the final of the Spanish Cup, which they lost to Barcelona.

Notable players:

A large crowd of people


One of the most prominent players of Madrid’s early years was Pahíño. He originally played for Atlético Madrid and formed an almost unequaled all-round midfield partnership with Crisanto.

Francisco Gento:

The 1960s saw the emergence of a young forward called Francisco Gento. He first appeared for Los Blancos in the 1958–59 season, scoring six goals in twelve games. The following year, he helped Madrid win the European Cup, scoring in the final against Eintracht Frankfurt. He went on to score in all six of Madrid’s successful campaigns in the European Cup, including the first-ever final.

Silvio Ardiles:

In 1970–71, veteran defender Silvio Ardiles joined the team and led Madrid to their eleventh European Cup eventual win.


Amancio was Madrid’s top scorer in the 1970–71 European Cup with four goals, including the equalizer in the final against Atlético Madrid. He also scored the winning goal in the 1974 UEFA Cup Final.

Luis Figo:

One of the most controversial signings in Madrid’s history was that of Luis Figo from fierce rivals Barcelona in 2000. The transfer cost Madrid €62 million and sparked heated debates across Spain about whether it was morally justifiable to spend such high amounts of money on a single player.

Zinedine Zidane:

In 2001, French playmaker Zinedine Zidane was signed by Juventus for a then-world record fee of €75 million. He went on to become one of the most successful players in Madrid’s history, winning the Champions League twice, La Liga once, and the Spanish Cup twice.

Cristiano Ronaldo:

In 2009, Madrid paid a world-record transfer fee of €94 million to sign Cristiano Ronaldo from Manchester United. He has since become the club’s all-time top goalscorer, and has helped Madrid win three Champions League trophies.

Gareth Bale:

In 2013, Madrid broke the world transfer record for a second time by signing Welsh winger Gareth Bale from Tottenham Hotspur for €100 million.

The following year, Madrid signed a football great by the name of Di Stéfano, who was fresh off successive championship successes in Brazil with River Plate. The Blancos lost the following year’s final to Barcelona. After reigning Spanish champions Atlético Madrid lost in the 1974 Champions League Final, Real Madrid triumphed in the UEFA Cup against Dutch side Feyenoord Rotterdam. The English side Liverpool were the opponents in the 1977 UEFA Final, with the Blancos losing 1-0 after a play-off. Spanish title-holders Barcelona finally mounted a successful campaign to unseat Los Merengues in the 1981 European Cup Winners’ Cup, which resulted in a 3-1 home victory in the final staged at Zaragoza’s La Romareda.

Instigated by newly appointed president Agustín Castilla, La Liga president Antonio Fernández and vice-president Lorenzo Sanz, Atlético Madrid were refused entry to the newly founded La Liga despite their president Fernández’s objections. In their second season in the competition, they finished the season in second place behind Valencia.


Real Madrid has a long and successful history in European competition, having won the Champions League (formerly the European Cup) a record twelve times. They have also been crowned champions of Europe on three occasions by winning the UEFA Cup or Europa League. This article has highlighted some of the most memorable moments in Madrid’s European history.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter